Union logo

The Union's Department of Tobacco Control, represented by all regional and country leads, is attending the 6th Session of Conference of Parties (COP6) to the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC). Their role at the meeting in Moscow is to support the governments of all parties to the FCTC to develop and strengthen tobacco control measures through the development of guidelines and protocols for important issues including taxation of tobacco products, illicit trade, alternate livelihoods for tobacco growers and electronic cigarettes. The discussions and negotiations will continue until, Saturday 18 October 2014.

The FCTC is the first international public health treaty, and 178 countries representing more than 89% of the world's population are Parties to the treaty. Since the first FCTC working group opened in October 1999, 74.5 million people have died of tobacco-related diseases.

Members of The Union tobacco control team at St Basil's cathedral, Red Square, Moscow. Following meetings on day 3 of the WHO FCTC Conference of Parties.

Pictured l-to-r: Daniel Kashnitsky, Johanna Dollerson, Tara Singh Bam, Daouda Adam, Irina Berezhnova, Rana Jugdeep Singh, Ehsan Latif, Kayleigh Bleymann, Gan Quan, Alexey Kotov

 Read more about tobacco control at The Union: www.tobaccofreeunion.org


logounion sml      

The Tobacco Control Department is based at The Union Europe Office, Edinburgh, registered charity no. SC039880
ⓒ Copyright 2015 The Union